2nd Dresden Nanoanalysis Symposium (DNS), 2014

Encouraged by the success and positive reception of the previous year, we invited to the 2nd Dresden Nanoanalysis Symposium (DNS) jointly organized with the Fraunhofer Cluster Nanoanalysis (DFCNA) and with Europe`s foremost conference on nanotechnology, the Nanofair. Nanofair has established itself as one of the premier events worldwide. With the slogan “New Ideas for Industry” the conference provides a vital platform for a scientific and industrial audience to exchange the latest results and ideas.

The participants had an excellent opportunity to make new contacts and to renew old ones. Plenary lectures by internationally renowned speakers as well as an exhibition running concurrently to the conference offered delegates excellent possibilities to get acquainted with the latest developments and research results. A poster session complemented the comprehensive technical program.

With pinpoint precision and with a minimum of organizational effort the 2nd DNS and the Nanofair allowed meeting the key players from industry and R&D. During the exhibitor’s evening as well as at the conference reception there was sufficient time for scientifically profound discussions and for finding new cooperation partners. The DNS and the Nanofair 2014 took place both at the International Congress Center in Dresden.

The Nanofair was from July 1 - 3, 2014, the 2nd DNS only on July 2nd, 2014.

With almost 100 participants the 2nd DNS was again a successful event and will be followed by the 3rd nanoanalysis Symposium on April 17, 2015.

Program of the 2nd DNS at July 2nd, 2014

Plenary session

  • State-of-the-art science and applications of carbon nanotubes
    Morinobu Endo, Shinshu University, Nagano, Japan
  • Advanced characterization of nanoparticles for possible medical applications
    Robert Sinclair, Stanford University, USA
  • OLED displays and other organic electronics technologies: how Novaled contributes to their success
    Jan Blochwitz-Nimoth, Novaled AG, Dresden Germany

Program of the 2nd DNS

  • Innovative 3D nanoanalysis
    Frank Stietz, Carl Zeiss Microscopy, Oberkochen, GERMANY
  • SIMS based correlative microscopy for high-resolution high-sensitivity nano-analytics
    Tom Wirtz, Centre de Recherche Public - Gabriel Lippmann, Luxembourg, LUXEMBOURG
  • Molecular depth profiling for organic electronics using argon cluster ion beams
    Jean-Paul Barnes, Animateur -Centre de Compétence "Faisceaux d'Ions" DTSi (SCMC), Grenoble, FRANCE
  • Application of the 3D atom probe to materials problems
    Michael Kopnarski, Institut für Oberflächen- und Schichtanalytik GmbH, Kaiserslautern, GERMANY
  • Applications of environmental (scanning) transmission electron microscopy to study oxidation and hydrogenation phenomena in nanomaterials
    Ai Leen Koh, Stanford University, California, USA
  • Advanced transmission electron microscopy in materials and nanoscience
    Erdmann Spiecker, Universität Erlangen, Erlangen, GERMANY
  • Correlating the active properties of interfaces and nanostructures to their nano and atomic scale structure using advanced electron microscopy
    Eva Olsson, Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, SWEDEN
  • Quantitative TEM and electron holography for analysis of nanophotonic devices
    on the (sub-)nanometer scale
    Michael Lehmann, Technische Universität Berlin, Berlin, GERMANY
  • Perspectives of X-ray microscopy by using multilayer Laue lens optics
    Stefan Braun, Fraunhofer IWS Dresden, Dresden, GERMANY
  • Spectroscopy and spectroelectrochemistry of isotopically labelled graphene layers
    Martin Kalbac, J. Heyrovsky Institute of Physical Chemistry of the Academy of Sciences, Prague, CZECH REPUBLIC
  • Atomic resolution STEM imaging and chemical mapping of oxide nanostructures
    César Magén, Universidad de Zaragoza, Zaragoza, SPAIN
  • Electron microscopy at structures for 1D electronics
    Markus Löffler, Technische Universität Dresden/DCN, Dresden, GERMANY


2nd DNS was kindly supported by the following prime sponsors:

2nd DNS was kindly supported by the following basic sponsors:

Chairs and Committee

Symposium Chair

Ehrenfried Zschech; Fraunhofer IKTS-MD, Dresden (Germany) and Dresden Center for Nanoanalysis, Dresden (Germany)

Scientific Committee Members

  • Thomas Chudoba; ASMEC, Radeberg-Rossendorf (Germany)
  • Reiner Dietsch; AXO, Dresden (Germany)
  • Lukas Eng; Technische Universität Dresden, Dresden (Germany)
  • Hans-Jürgen Engelmann; Globalfoundries, Dresden (Germany)
  • Narciso Gambacorti; CEA LETI MINATEC, Grenoble (France)
  • Christoph Gerber; University of Basel (Switzerland)
  • Joachim Mayer; Ernst Ruska-Centre, Jülich (Germany)
  • Andreas Leson; Fraunhofer IWS, Dresden (Germany)
  • Malgorzata Lewandowska; Warsaw University of Technology, Warsaw (Poland)
  • Ulrich Mantz; Carl Zeiss Microscopy, Oberkochen (Germany)
  • Michael Mertig; Technische Universität Dresden, Dresden (Germany)
  • Velimir Radmilovic; University of Belgrade (Serbia) and University of California (USA)
  • Rainer Rauh; EADS, München (Germany)
  • Gerd Schneider; Helmholtz-Zentrum, Berlin (Germany)
  • Robert Sinclair; Stanford University, California (USA)
  • Wilfried Vandervorst, IMEC, Leuven (Netherlands)
  • Oden Warren; Hysitron, Minnesota (USA)
  • Thomas Weissgaerber; Fraunhofer IFAM, Dresden (Germany)